resource hub | How to Win an Excellence Award

How to Win an Excellence Award


With the Excellence Awards having come and gone for another year, October’s ceremony at Aqua Shard saw another group of well-deserved winners leave with a trophy in their hand and a smile on their face.


What though, marks the difference between a winning site and a highly commended site? What are those who leave with a trophy doing differently to those who don’t?


By following these three steps, you might just be heading home with that coveted award next year…


Step 1 – Become a Premier Guarantee Customer


The Excellence Awards are open only to Premier Guarantee registered sites. If your site is registered with Premier Guarantee, then it is automatically eligible to be nominated for an Excellence Award.


Step 2 – What are the judges looking for?


As with most awards, it’s the judges that set out the criteria that, if followed, could see you on the way to picking up an award. So what do our judges look for in an award winning site, and what will you specifically be judged on?


The Judges -

Mike Swatton, Business Development Director, Premier Guarantee 

What do you look for in an award winning site? “Tidy, organised and compliant.” 


Peter Bennett, Director, Design 42

What do you look for in an award winning site?  “The commitment to and the production of homes of high quality.”




Here’s what our judges had to say about this year’s winning developments…


Single Unit Development of the Year – Seagrave Development, Rosebank


“Knowledge and experience is a key ingredient for building high quality developments and this winner has certainly shown that they possess these. At their site they applied good planning, thoughtful preparation and meticulous attention to detail, which has resulted in a beautifully stunning home.”


Small Development of the Year – Bracken Developments, Durlston & Corfe House


“This developer is known for providing spacious, quality accommodation for all ages, their sites are carefully chosen to take advantage of good geographical locations, and matched with construction knowledge, careful planning and exemplary workmanship. They have got it exactly right again this time with their magnificent development.”


Medium Development of the Year - Wyatt Homes, Brimsmore


“This development demonstrates the Developer’s passion for building unique, luxury homes with workmanship that matches the eye catching architecture. This site team have played a significant part led by a site manager who loves his job, his site, and is driven to produce the very best quality.”


Large Development of the Year - Berkeley Homes (West London) Ltd, Chiswick Gate


“The winner of this award have designed and crafted a beautiful development of apartments and townhouses. The brick, stone and slated roofs  align with the surroundings perfectly. This developer’s processes then kick in and drive for the best quality and exacting finishes culminating in some beautiful homes.”


Social Housing Development of the Year – Springfield Properties & Hanover (Scotland) Housing Association, Linkwood View


“This year’s winning development is quite simply a stunning scheme with a mixture of construction materials that are blended extraordinarily well and would be acclaimed in any part of the country. The management of this development is to be applauded.”


Multi-storey Development of the Year - Berkeley Homes (North East London) Ltd, Woodberry Down


“Our winning developer consistently maintains exceptionally high standards year on year. The site team is established and the project is professionally managed in fine detail. To their credit they have transformed the area surrounding the site, working in harmony with all those involved.”


Apartment Scheme of the Year – Heronslea Ltd, The Residence


“This business are renowned for their prestigious and striking new homes. Their schemes are notable for design, high quality, luxury, and complete customer satisfaction. The exquisite luxury and superb hand crafted quality is a pleasure to see and the homes are simply impressive.”


Site Manager of the Year – Richard Coles, Wyatt Homes


“The key to excellent quality is the vision to know ‘what it looks like’, the determination and drive to achieve it and the processes to maintain consistency in delivering it. Today’s winner has all of these qualities and, essentially, the Leadership skills to motivate the site team. He is committed to the company’s ethos of perfection and manages the build to deliver homes to be proud of.”


Developer of the Year – Berkeley Group


“This renowned city developer continues to figure in our awards and has wider industry recognition with recurring success, as can be seen here today. The company prides itself on building new homes and neighbourhoods that are beautiful and successful places to live. Their world class vision focuses on customers and the environments they develop and again this year they are the best in class.”


Now you know what our judges are looking for in an award winning site - what next?


Step 3 – contact your Surveyor


You cannot submit your own entry for an Excellence Award. Although our judges make the ultimate decision on who wins, it is your Surveyor that will put your site forward. Our surveyors will be marking sites against set criteria during their warranty site inspections. The developments which meet all the criteria go forward for judging.


If you are interested in being entered for the Excellence Awards next year, make sure you are asking your surveyor for all the details!